About the Senate

FAS-SEAS Senate By-Laws (updated on March 10, 2022)

The FAS (Faculty of Arts and Sciences) Senate began its inaugural year in September 2015, with 22 senators representing the humanities, sciences, social sciences, and engineering. In 2020, the Yale School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS) separated from FAS becoming its own entity. In September 2022, SEAS joined with the FAS and the FAS Senate then became  the FAS-SEAS Senate. Click here for the list of past and current senators. Click here for a slide deck summarizing the Senate’s structure and accomplishments.